WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

2021 REGULAR SESSION

Enrolled

Committee Substitute

for

Senate Bill 514

OFFICE WEST VIRGINIA
SECRETARY OF STATE

By Senators Smith, Takubo, Hamilton, Woelfel, and Jeffries

[Passed April 5, 2021; in effect 90 days from passage (July 4, 2021)]

WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

2021 REGULAR SESSION

Enrolled

Committee Substitute

for

Senate Bill 514

DEFICE WEST VIRGINAL SECRETARY OF STATE

By Senators Smith, Takubo, Hamilton, Woelfel, and Jeffries

[Passed April 5, 2021; in effect 90 days from passage (July 4, 2021)]

AN ACT to amend and reenact §20-1-16 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to the Natural Resources Commission; providing for the composition and membership of the commission; providing criteria and qualifications for the appointment of commissioners; and providing for reimbursement of expenses for commissioners.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

ARTICLE 1. ORGANIZATION AND ADMINISTRATION.

§20-1-16. Natural Resources Commission - generally.

- (a) The Natural Resources Commission, created and established by §20-1-3 of this code, shall be a public benefit corporation and as such may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, contract and be contracted with, and have and use a common seal. It shall be a commission advisory to the director and to the Division of Natural Resources. The commission shall be composed of seven members, known as commissioners, one from each division of natural resources district and the remainder from the state at large, and shall be appointed to provide the broadest geographic distribution possible so that each commissioner shall attend the division sectional meetings established in §20-1-7(6) of this code within his or her respective district.
- (b) The Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall appoint the seven members for the following terms beginning July 1, 2021:
 - (1) Three for a term of four years;
 - (2) Two for a term of three years; and
 - (3) Two for a term of two years.
- (4) Successors to appointed members whose terms expire shall be appointed for terms of four years. Any commissioner whose term has expired shall serve until his or her successor has been appointed. An appointed commissioner may not serve more than two consecutive terms. Vacancies shall be filled for any unexpired term. Appointment to fill a vacancy shall not be considered as one of two full terms. Any commissioner who has served two or more consecutive

terms immediately preceding the effective date of this section shall not be excluded from consideration for initial appointment under this section.

- (c) The members of the commission shall be citizens and residents of the state, and shall be selected with special emphasis on his or her interest in the conservation of the natural resources of the state. No member of the commission shall be a candidate for or hold any public office other than that of member of the commission; nor shall he or she be a member of any committee of a political party. In case a member becomes a candidate for or accepts appointment to any public office or political party committee, his or her position as member of the commission shall be immediately vacated. The Director of the Division of Natural Resources may submit recommendations to the Governor for the appointment of the commissioners.
- (d) Commissioners are not entitled to compensation for services performed for the commission, but may be reimbursed by the Division of Natural Resources for actual and necessary expenses incurred for each day in which he or she is engaged in the discharge of official duties, the actual expenses not to exceed the amount paid similar reimbursement to members of the Legislature.

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that correctly enrolled.	the foregoing	bill is	
Mustalagune			
Cháirman, Segate Confimittee			
Chairman, House Committee	OFFICE	2021 APR	
Originated in the Senate.	表意		
In effect 90 days from passage	京 家 家	ט	
Dee low	景	ىپ <u>س</u>	U
Clerk of the Senate			
Stelle Horyyon			
Clerk of the House of Delegates			
Ch P.Bh			
President of the Senate			
Da Toust	an		
Speaker of the House of	of Delegates	•	
The within 15 upproved this the	1514		
Day of April		2021.	
of be			
Janu J	your	L	0
	vernor		

PRESENTED TO THE GOVERNOR

APR 0.8 3.21

3:34pm